top of page
Search
  • nextgenmusician

Karoline's Advocacy Letter


Dear Council Member Feliz,


My name is Karoline Castillo Troncoso. I am a vocalist and an aspiring pianist. I attend TAPCo (Theatre Arts Production Company School) and am passionate about creating an environment for students of our generation that encourages active engagement and the potential pursuit of a music career.

I believe music education is important because it allows one to express themselves in a way in which simple words wouldn’t be able to succeed. Music is a language which unites people; a language which all can understand and resonate with regardless of the lack of knowledge of the potentially literal language. Not many people enjoy the routines and practices within the educational system, but have you ever heard of anyone who didn’t like music? Everyone can find a music style, genre, etc. which personally resonates with them and their life experiences. That’s why music education is so special; because it is personal, it is our education.

Music has impacted my life in so many different dimensions. Whether that be physical, emotional, mental, social, etc. There’s music to cater to what feels like every stage of the human experience. I believe God has led me to music, and designed me with a purpose that is to be partially fulfilled in music. Music has only allowed me to fall deeper in love with the Lord Jesus Christ, and has gotten me through some tough times.

As a young person I wish to make a difference by advocating for a change in my community. The change I wish to see in the music field is encouraging is to see young men and women of our generation to become more engaged in our classrooms and to potentially pursue a career in music, if that’s something he or she is passionate about.

I am advocating for the hiring of more teachers within every music elective – instrumental, vocal, choir and more – so that more perspectives can be shared within a classroom, and so that more order is maintained. The solution is to help fund the salaries of said teachers, and money remaining can go to further build the foundation of music education within our school by paying for more instruments and musical opportunities.

I am advocating for music education at TAPCo, because it changes lives, and it changed mine. Thank you for reading my letter and for being a continued advocate for music education at our school. My hope is that opportunities such as the cause I’ve shared above will be extended to other schools in our community.

Sincerely,


Karoline Castillo Tronsoco





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page